Worthy Links

– Good stuff from Ethan Nadelmann in the Wall Street Journal:

Consider the consequences of drug prohibition today: 500,000 people incarcerated in U.S. prisons and jails for nonviolent drug-law violations; 1.8 million drug arrests last year; tens of billions of taxpayer dollars expended annually to fund a drug war that 76% of Americans say has failed; millions now marked for life as former drug felons; many thousands dying each year from drug overdoses that have more to do with prohibitionist policies than the drugs themselves, and tens of thousands more needlessly infected with AIDS and Hepatitis C because those same policies undermine and block responsible public-health policies.

I’d recommend Cato Unbound’s discussion on drug policy as a worthy companion piece.

– I’m late to this, but Professor Deneen remembers Mark Twain’s birthday with a great post. Here’s my favorite bit:

I grew up next to a family named Clemens. The two sisters who lived there – slightly older than my immediately younger brother and I – regularly tormented us in the way that only older girls can do (at least that’s how I remember it; I’m sure they’d have a different take). One day they were taunting us that “Deneen” wasn’t a famous name at all, and that they were related to Mark Twain. I taunted back, informing them that their last name was CLEMENS, not TWAIN, so they couldn’t be related, to which they shot back some cockamamie story about Twain being originally named Clemens. I shot inside our kitchen to ask my all-knowing Mother, who informed me that indeed Twain WAS born Sam Clemens, much to my chagrin. I asked her if WE were related to anyone famous, and she told me that we were, and gave me the lineage. I marched proudly out to those uppity Clemens sisters and told them that we WERE related to someone famous. “Yea, who,” they asked. “Adam and Eve,” I informed them, repeating my mother’s information. It’s a wonder I still talk to that woman.

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, Drug War, Politics, Worthy Links

Leave a Reply

