Just when I thought I was out . . . they pull me back in

I’m currently banging out a file for my alma mater’s policy debate program, whose (sole?) varsity team will be attending the Georgia State tournament this weekend in Atlanta. For those of you unfamiliar with the odd subculture that is collegiate policy debate, Georgia State is the inaugural national tournament of a season that runs until next spring. Mary Washington is usually out-gunned and over-matched on the national circuit, but in college I was fortunate enough to compete at a time when a few brave souls challenged the bigger schools’ hegemonic aspirations.

Now the hopes of this distinguished alumnus rest on one varsity team, known only by their initials, KS. Both K and S are bold, strapping fellows whom I admire greatly. Last year, they made a name for themselves by defeating Cal Berkeley’s top team in elimination rounds of Wake Forest’s autumn tournament. Now these veteran gunslingers have returned for another shot at the national circuit, and I expect great things from them.

As a junior, I was fortunate enough to debate with S at a regional tournament (We were soundly beaten by the Papists in the semi-finals). I never had the pleasure of debating with K, but I can vouch for him as a gentleman and a scholar.

In short, both debaters are the smarter, more articulate kid brothers I never had. I wish them the best of luck, and I look forward to hearing tales of their exploits.

Go Eagles!

A photo of my very last debate round in college. I'm the scruffy-looking fellow on the left. The crypto-Marxist to my right is my famed ex-partner.
A photo of my very last debate round in college. I’m the scruffy-looking fellow on the left. The crypto-Marxist on the right is my famed ex-partner.
7 Comments

Filed under Policy Debate, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Just when I thought I was out . . . they pull me back in

  1. Pingback: Georgia State - Day 1 « Dispatches

  2. Pingback: Georgia State - Day 3 « Dispatches

  3. Pingback: Today Was A Good Day «

  4. Pingback: Go Mary Washington! «

  5. Pingback: Go Mary Washington! «

  6. Pingback: Beat Harvard «

  7. Pingback: Go Mary Washington «

Leave a Reply

